Poets logo

Commoner

a poem

By Matt DwyerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Commoner
Photo by Inja Pavlić on Unsplash

The camera flashes like lightning bolts

that awaken part of my brain

they say lightning doesn't strike twice

but it does in the world of fame. 

*

The thunder is in the cries of the crowd

as they reach out for a single touch

and I wish I could greet them all, but

I'm the bolt only striking once:

*

a singular event in humankind

they all want to pry open my mind

and photograph every part of my life

like the key to happiness is in my pumpkin spice. 

*

But it's all just a fantasy

cobbled together by blogs you read

scrolling through photos on your feed

of your idols on endless repeat. 

*

Maybe I'm in my bedroom too

looking for someone that I can live through

a poster to put up on my wall

and see myself like the commoners do.

social commentary

About the Creator

Matt Dwyer

Recent college grad. I write about pop culture, politics, travel, mental health, and more

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Matt DwyerWritten by Matt Dwyer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.