Poets logo

Commitment

A Poem

By Conor MigganPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

There’s not much between Friends and Enemies

Just a measure of commitment

I have friends whose time I can’t beg for

And enemies I never wanted who turn to me to change it Like it was my idea in the first place

Existence for some is simply a series of lies

What lies you want to tell, and who with

My supposed enemies have all let me know privately They too smell the bullshit in the air

But together they make up a peculiar phenomenon

If enough people are willing to swear by the same lie it becomes the truth

And you and your truth are left outside raving like a drunken wino

Not welcome any more

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Conor Miggan

31, Irish, living in London. I teach children for a living, on a good day they teach me too. I have a son, he's the greatest motivation I've ever had.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.