Poets logo

Coming of Age

Never too late to catch the spirit; also never too early

By Kathryn ParkerPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
1

At the beginning, I did not stand or crawl.

I did not know seasons, not even Fall.

Then I saw children like me,

Screaming, howling, playing make-believe.

I walked the streets and ate the candy. Reese’s, Snickers, chocolate and malt,

Caramel, crunchy, and just a hint of salt.

I grew older and the night had changed.

The long awaited cold suddenly grew fangs.

I bundled up warmer and snuck champagne,

But I knew the howls and laughter would never be the same.

Another year, more holidays passed.

Two decades of life, Halloween comes fast.

The costumes looked more like masks, our true desires revealed.

The candy looked slightly congealed.

I face tiny and big children with a fake grin painted on my own mask.

Only concentrating on getting through the task.

I walk my children down a familiar way,

Tired and ragged with steaming coffee in my hand, I say,

“One more house”. I’m met with groans

And moans.

I look with envious eyes at the joy surrounding me.

Wishing age would not come with such a fee.

Old and wrinkled, I shuffle slowly to the door.

I see a bitter cold night and nothing more.

Shrieks tear through the silence and happy screams fill the dark,

Throughout the streets and towards the park.

I look on again with such envy at the joy.

Then I see at my sidewalk, a little boy.

He’s timid and shy and comes up the walk slow.

Shivering as the wind picks up and starts to really blow.

I tell him, “Child, I have no candy or sweets for your tooth tonight.”

He remarks, “That is quite alright.”

“Then why come to my door?”

“To tell you Happy Halloween and nothing more.”

He skips on, disappears into thin air, a grin spreads across my face and I fear it.

Never too late to catch the Halloween spirit.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kathryn Parker

Life is amazing. Life is horrible. It just depends on your day and attitude.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.