Poets logo

Coming Home

A Warm Spring Morning

By Summer McDanielPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Coming Home
Photo by Aniket Bhattacharya on Unsplash

The warm sun tingling on my skin on a spring morning. Dew on the grass, the first presence of flowering buds on the trees. Birds singing and a light breeze blowing my hair. Smells like damp earth and honeysuckles. Children running bare foot in the yard with the deepest belly giggles, it makes me grin from ear to ear. A dog at my side rubbing his head on my thigh. New life in my womb squirming around as if it too wants to come out and play. Big strong hands sliding across my stomach and a presence that feels like coming home after years of being away. I took my first look at you across the room, a stranger, and that is what I saw. Then you smiled at me and I thought surely my heart would burst.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Summer McDaniel

As a child I could create a story out of no where at anytime. Then I got lost in the world of stable jobs, financial gain, and intelligence over creativity. Join me as I attempt to reclaim my creativity!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tori2 years ago

    I love the imagery you created in this piece. Sounds like a pretty perfect morning to me. Great work! 👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.