Poets logo

Comforting My Illness

A Poem

By Jessica BurbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The T.V. is on

The coffee is strong

The feel of my yarn

Is helping me go on

This gets me through the day

Helps my soul not cave

Into a broken abyss

See, I'm only ready for this

The comforts of my life

To subdue my crazed mind

They are necessary measures

to keep me at least semi tethered

Tethered to what is real

See, with an illness, it becomes ideal

To sit and knit

To forget

This ordeal

This terrible nightmare

So, leave the T.V. on

And let me witness others being strong

Because my strength is gone

And I don't know

If I'll be here long

Although,

When coffee stops the fog

My mind feels unclogged

And inhibitions dissolve

I become inspired again

And want to live

through my torment

To do the same things all over again.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jessica Burby

Poetry is my passion.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Heartfelt and a little sad. Many blessings and love. Hearted and subscribed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.