Poets logo

Comforting Cliches

A Love Poem

By E. LegerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Comforting Cliches
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Cliche as it may be

for anyone to say;

Anxiety is a bitch.

And there’s no avoiding it.

What comforts me in my times of need

is it feels the same every time.

I can tell you when,

or even the how,

and when it strikes

it’s always hard.

Hard on me,

and hard on us.

But equally cliche,

as almost all would say

Love is amazing.

And there’s no denying that.

What comforts me in my times of need

is it feels so warm every time.

I can tell you when,

and all about how,

like how lucky I am

to be with my love right now.

He holds on to me,

holds on for us.

Cliche as it might be,

and just for me to say;

I wouldn’t know comfort

if it weren’t for him here each day.

love poems
1

About the Creator

E. Leger

Writer, teacher, wife, and lover of the outdoors. Genres include poetry, short stories of all varieties, and occasional non-fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.