Poets logo

Comfortable Longing

An ode to my best friend

By Maahi TrivediPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Comfortable Longing
Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

It was never the plan, falling for you

But looking back, my fate was sealed when you said your first hello

Best friends for a lifetime already, survived it all, wish we could begin anew.

Maybe it was me or maybe you were blind

Maybe time and fate failed to play their parts

But do we believe in it, this thing called destiny; do we really need the stars aligned?

Because all my heart truly knows is how fast it beats when you smile with no warning

Blinding, radiant, it makes the rest of the world fade away

And left behind is an inexplicable calm, of starlit skies and Sunday mornings.

Happy places or comfort zones, call it what you will

You are reading my favourite book, a long bath after a tough day and the smell of fresh baked cookies all rolled in one

The one I run to in bad times and good, a quiet longing for tranquility fulfilled.

Its comfortable, yes, but never complacent

You've helped me evolve, motivation casting a glow on the dread of dark tomorrows

Is this love, it has to be, or at least something adjacent.

But now you have her, and she is to you what you are to me

And though I wish you could return my feelings and I could return the favour

I'll take what we are, with you a better man and happy as can be

The comforting embrace of your friendship is my fate, I hope some day my heart will agree.

heartbreaklove poems
Like

About the Creator

Maahi Trivedi

A 20-something baker trying to navigate her scattered emotions by typing them out online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.