Poets logo

Comfort In Consistency

Part 2 of 2

By Thomas JamesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Comfort In Consistency
Photo by Bram Kunnen on Unsplash

(Inspired by the song Trauma Factory by: Nothing,Nowhere)

It all started 11 years ago. The day I locked myself in this box. And it's been six months since the knocking first began.

Six long months I've spent trying to ignore the muffled sounds of the world on the other side.

But it's open now. I can see the world laid out before me, I can feel it's welcoming presence. I look to my writings, the countless notebooks and pages sitting upon my desk. There's not much left for me there.

Not anymore. My ideas are gone. My stories all recorded. All that's left is to step through this doorway, see what awaits for me there. Maybe I'll find peace. Maybe I can finally be happy. But my closet is full. Skeletons, memories, things I wish I could forget. Things I wish I could let go. But I can't, no matter how hard I try. They'll always be there, pulling me down further and further.

So, I pick up my smile. Cover my feelings with laughter and jokes. And go back to pretending everything's fine when it isn't.

Because only one thing is true:

Human life is a trauma factory. And the only thing to mask is the feelings you hold.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Thomas James

I've been writing stories since the 6th grade so this is mostly things that didn't make final drafts or just the thoughts that find their way into my head and onto my notes app.

So grab a warm drink, a comfy blanket, and stay awhile! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.