Poets logo

Comfort in a Bottle

A poem for alcohol

By Dylan Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Comfort in a Bottle
Photo by Nathan Powers on Unsplash

Like everyone else, I've had my share of hard days

I seem to pick up a bottle, stuck in my ways

Drinking and drinking, until I'm stuck in a daze

My view becomes blurry, as the night fades away

By Jakub Dziubak on Unsplash

Waking up in the morning, there's always regret

Why did I do that? I feel like a wreck

Still the next night the cycle repeats

Comfort in a bottle each night of the week

By Isabella and Zsa Fischer on Unsplash

Bottles of vodka, tequila, and rye

Bottles of whiskey until I feel I can fly

A bottle of wine, one glass will be fine

Until I have four, waking up on the floor

By Christin Hume on Unsplash

It's crazy to think, some mistakes from a drink

Surprised by a child from a night that was wild

A trip to the ER after drinking too much beer

Go from having a cheer to shedding a tear

A for the comfort of a bottle of clear

By Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

I will admit, it is one great escape

Until I wake up from the toll that it takes

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Dylan

Hello! I am a writer, poet, rapper, and musician trying to make it in this crazy world! If you like my poem's please leave a like and subscribe!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Hoping this is fiction. I like this truth in the poem. We all get lost in something, drink. food, debauchery, you name it. Cheers for hope.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.