Poets logo

Comfort Bites: PB & J

Nostalgic Symphony

By DaphsamPublished 2 months ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
34
Comfort Bites: PB & J
Photo by Freddy G on Unsplash

A nostalgia

treat to

behold.

Reminding me

of sticky fingers

or racing

my velvety tongue

to catch the oozy

of sweet grape jelly.

Cruising

from side

to side

on rough bready edges.

πŸ₯œ

The

Peanut butter

and

grape jelly

sandwiched

between

airy

white bread.

πŸ₯œπŸ₯œ

A snack

that is

one for

the ages.

πŸ₯œπŸ₯œπŸ₯œ

Tis time

to relive

the gooey

and chewy,

buttery

amber golden

spread

that coats

my mouth

with rich

nutty flavors.

πŸ₯œπŸ₯œπŸ₯œ

Along with

this playful

symphony is

tangy grape jelly

as sweet

as a purple

lilac.

A mingling

of old friends

sweet and savory.

πŸ₯œπŸ₯œπŸ₯œπŸ₯œ

Each nibble

is an escape

back to

comfort

home

and good reliable friend.

OdelistFor Fun
34

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Wayne Ince2 months ago

    Congrats on top story. I love PBJs

  • Frank Racioppi2 months ago

    Love the imagery. You bring a sandwich to life involving the senses.

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    FABULOUS!

  • Xine Segalas2 months ago

    Yum- now I would like one for lunch. Beautiful watercolor too. nicely done all around.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    This is nicely described.

  • Sarah Danaher2 months ago

    It makes me hungry to read this. Well done on the poem and congrats on Top Story

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

  • Huan Huan 2 months ago

    Beautiful! I love a poem about enjoying the simple things in life!

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer2 months ago

    Yum! πŸ˜‹ (Strawberry for me though, can't get the grape stuff that easily over here.)

  • MaryJones2 months ago

    My last paycheck was $2500 for working 12 hours a week online. My sister's friend has been averaging 8k for months now and she works about 30 hours a week. I can't believe how easy it was once I tried it out. The potential with this is endless. This is what I do..... Www.Smartwork1.Com

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    We went for the same treat, Daphsam! Loved the poem and I absolutely love PB&Js! Comfort Bites is right!

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Love it! A classic combo! ❀️

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Your words totally took me back to chasing down my own escaping pb&j oozing from the side of my sandwich. Nicely done.

  • Thaddeus sokomba2 months ago

    Wonderful

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Scrumptious! Both the snack and the poem! Loved β€œA mingling of old friends sweet and savory.”

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Took me back with this one! Although I’m picky with jelly now, I still enjoy the pairing every now and then. Great entry, Daphne!

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    PB&J are not a thing here in Aus, though we know it only too well. Our national children's sandwich would be Fairy Bread, which is buttered white bread with sprinkles (hundreds and thousands) shaken over them. We used to be able to buy this at school. My throw back sandwich is peanut butter and banana. I still eat them today. I love the nostalgia of this poem

  • Ali SP2 months ago

    Your words took me on a PB&J experience. I could almost taste it. Congrats on TP!

  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Wonderfully crafted! And all sounding so yummy!

  • A wonderful challenge entry

  • ema2 months ago

    Yummy! Congrats for top story and good luck in the challenge!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I do still like a pb&j sammy. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Mouthwatering verse. Congrats on the TS and good luck in the challenge

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Wonderful & congratulations on Top Story!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.