Poets logo

Come and Visualize The New Year With Me

A 600 word poem about reflection and intention.

By salted commentariesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Come and Visualize The New Year With Me
Photo by Guilherme Romano on Unsplash

Below is a poem inspired by guided meditation.

I've included some affirmations for the new year.

Pause wherever needed, whenever the words resonate with you.

dear new year,

show me that I've learned.

//

for the past

three hundred and sixty-five days

magnified

the ups and downs

with more time than ever

to process

and identify

//

ups,

like enhanced friendship

more communication, more checking in,

and more time with family.

ups,

like resourcefulness

in creating new ways to connect and play and entertain,

together (but not together).

ups,

like being forced to assess

my present.

//

downs,

like too much nothing time,

realizing I need hobbies, and passions

that are mine alone.

downs,

like being isolated by working from home,

only me and a screen,

and wow, I hate my job more than I thought.

downs,

like breaking my own heart,

being too distant and aloof.

//

I'm learning from my mistakes.

I'm learning that failure is okay.

I'm learning to be honest with myself.

I'm learning to be brave.

I'm learning to let my emotions come to the surface.

//

I'm setting some goals:

see more of my country.

start a new job, and excel.

move to a new apartment.

spend more time outdoors; hiking and skiing and swimming.

be consistent with my fitness, increase my physical activity.

//

I'm focusing my intentions:

on positivity.

on achieving higher levels of professional success.

on being more open, and more vulnerable, with those around me.

on prioritizing happiness over image.

on creating a real home for myself.

//

I'm manifesting:

healing and love and healing and love.

abundance in all aspects of my life.

happiness for those around me and happiness within myself.

stability and relaxation at home.

a sense of peace.

//

I'm using affirmations -- repeat after me:

.

I deserve to see myself in the same warm glow that I see others. My light is abundant. My joy is important. I deserve to take up space. I matter.

.

Letting go is teaching me that I am not lacking but receiving. I am acquiring knowledge, resilience, and room in my heart for something greater.

.

I am thankful for all the love that I have received, and will continue to receive from those around me now and in the future. My future relationship will blossom into beautiful partnership.

.

I am on the right path to achieving my goals and dreams. I am living in the moment, and not holding on to any negative past energy.

.

Streams of love and affection are flowing to me every single day. Every day that passes is a day putting me closer to where I want to be.

//

I'm visualizing:

contentment and satisfaction in my job

fullness in my heart

balance between work and life, mentally at ease

fresh mountain air in my lungs and sunshine in my hair

a smile on my face

//

p a u s e

can you see it too?

close your eyes, and breathe

keep them closed a moment longer

enjoy

//

last year's lows

are irreplaceable

[for some, they are even a gift]

from which, the lessons and teachings

have caused so much growth.

//

this year

time will matter

it's passing will signify

moving closer to my goals

instead of wasting away

into

vast nothingness

//

a plan is in place

change is in motion

by the end of the next

three hundred and sixty-five days

I will be different.

//

dear new year,

show me I've learned.

//

I just want to see that I've learned.

I know that I have learned.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

salted commentaries

Insights from a happy but skeptical millennial female.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.