Poets logo

Come a Little Closer

It's not a game, it's exhausting.

By Matthew HernandezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
📷 from: Tumblr

Oh Love,

Why do you fade from my embrace?

Staying for the briefest of moments

Leaving gentle suggestions towards the trail to take

It must be myself I deceive

If not you, who do I mistake?

Can it be the bittersweet twin in guise?

Is it Lust the favors your place?

Either or, you're an elusive wisp of smoke

Signaling me to both yield and give chase

Drunk on a whim with caution against the wind

Do I dare steal away unspoken laws to break?

Oh Love,

We are both aware this crime I cannot commit

Karma always turns curse for those who betray faith

Instead, I decide to suffer in slight

Await patiently for Truth to expose face

Rest these heavy thoughts and dance soundly

Allow life's humming melody to carry pace

My heart drifts along drawing warmth closer

To caress a dull outline of empty space

Reminding to pay mind to this moment without time

While remaining attentive for the arrival you'll make

With True intent to stay

Oh Love,

Why do you fade from my embrace?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Hernandez

Writing as a way of reflection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.