Poets logo

Colors of Enlightenment

a chance encounter

By Mary Linda BauerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

So lost, so alone, afraid and I did not care

Until I looked up and saw you standing there

We were both lost and afraid of things unknown

Having wandered far from home

our hearts and souls laid bare.

I found myself thinking “Where have you been all my life?”

A life filled with much suffering and strife

We had so many days that made us sad

finding each other made us glad

as you asked me to be your wife.

People are mere colors to others, no name no face

But my heart came alive when you stepped in my space,

I am white, you are yellow

my spirit feels calm and mellow

As finally I have found my rightful place.

Walking beside you along a path where no fear resides

I see my life unfolding like a turning of the tides.

They dubbed you yellow but you have no fear

Nor do I now as I'm standing here

The fear, the sadness, with you subsides.

Colors of enlightenment and only one that would be blue

That I get lost in darkness and not be able to find you,

As I look at you and here we stand

Eyes filled with love as you hold my hand

I see our beautiful life of love together as two.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mary Linda Bauer

I'm retired and am 69 years old. I love writing and painting and used to work in software development and computers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.