Poets logo

Colorless

Love

By L. E. KingPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

The black

I remember the taste of it

Dripping off your tongue

Burning into our flesh

Like a sickness

To have green pastures

To count the chickens

Before you see the yolk

I don't miss the black

I don't miss the grime and the dirt

But what is life without the taste of salt in your teeth

Running down your neck

The teapot hissing in my ear that

He is done

It is done

That we are done

After the black

I am at the wheel of my car panting

you give me a brief kiss

And a wink

And exit our only bedroom

Your words leave me grey

Black deeds

White heat

And the weight of grey

love poems
Like

About the Creator

L. E. King

I am a writer, actress and artist. I am the exhausted and overused kettle that is screeching on a stove top because I've hit boiling. I am almost 30 and living out my 10th existential crisis. I think I'm funny, and that's all that matters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.