Poets logo

Collateral Reach

A long journey for an important question

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
9
Collateral Reach
Photo by Ben Griffiths on Unsplash

We travel years to you

Hoping to hear and view

The marvels of your technological advancement

But you’re telling me this is the extent?

Mere melted corpses powering your world?

I’m sure they don’t like being extracted and burned

By inferior beings with no accolades earned

Wait sir, I don’t think you’ve fully discerned

We’re close to a breakthrough in fusion power

Like the sun we’ll have endless power, allowing us to tower

Past our potential and then scour

The universe, like you, and maybe empower

Future generations to leave and be prouder

Of being human

What is this fusion you boast?

We use power to compress materials to their utmost

Fusing particles to change them and then note

The power expelled is greater than put in

I’m sorry, I can’t help but grin

This is when humanity’s greatness begins

Oh, you mean like this little power cell?

Here, take it. Maybe you can get out of this narrow shell

-

Son, did you not say this planet is advanced and interesting?

Yes, I did. I picked up some primordial signals recurring

I managed to decipher and deblur them

They were waves from the light spectrum…

You mean radio waves?

It’s possible, I can’t verify your claims

And I know its probably long finished, with your light-travel constraints

They might all be gone now, But I don’t want to be dark dreary

Can you introduce me to the cast of The Big Bang Theory?

humor
9

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    I was wondering when you'd tie in TBBT, after I saw the picture!! Great work Mohammed!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    This was fun, I love the end! 😁

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Fantastic piece, Mohammed! I loved your take on this challenge! Brilliant! And I saw Dharrsheena’s comment and I agree, fossil fuels/ melted corpses is perfect! Great job! 💫💞

  • I'm gonna refer to fossil fuels as melted corpses from now on, lol! I loved this poem!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    This was a really cool one, Mohammed!! Totally true about the melted corpse power 🫠

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Amazing poem, concepts, and rhymes, Mohammed! I really love this entry; wishing you luck in the challenge! 🤗❤️❤️❤️

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I adored this so much, what a great entry!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.