Poets logo

Colder Than Stone

Sequel to “The Coldness of Stone”

By Marcus Alan PerkinsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Colder Than Stone
Photo by Museums Victoria on Unsplash

With the death of we

I remained in place

a soul stuck in this awful place.

The war spread out

and before you were in your grave

the men who slayed you

sat in your place.

My eyes watch as they

revel in their day

but I will slay them someway.

Years pass by, as death surrounds me

from armies we are in constant siege.

They finally break through the city walls

twenty years after your fall.

With them comes death to those

who took our lives

and now they feel

the cold stone too.

The ones who are now in our spot

well, they will feel the stone someday too.

With each death it feels

the stone grows more cold

the blood sinks further

shading the grey a morbid color.

How will the world be

when we end these ways?

Hopefully there will be peace;

but we shall see.

* Did you enjoy this story? Please consider tipping so I may continue on this journey!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Marcus Alan Perkins

I’m a father, published author, student, avid reader, husband, and advocate for equality for all. I am going to use this platform for my short stories and poems. Follow me on Facebook: @Author.MarcusPerkins, Twitter handle: @AMarcusperkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.