Poets logo

Cold Writing

A Frosty Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6

"One must have a mind of winter /To regard the frost and the boughs /Of the pine-trees crusted with snow;" from "The Snow Man" by Wallace Stevens, 1921

Winter is the sole literate season

Its frosty phraseology abounds

Legible are its crisp forms by reason

From cold and water, it symbols compounds

Why then, does cold writing scare so many?

Cold can destroy, but mostly, it preserves

Notes and research? Winter hasn’t any

Being itself, in its own cool way, serves

Frost makes its forms, its fractal family

Without a scheme or plot deliberate;

Cold manifests itself, and so simply

Makes water freeze, like ink made coherent

Let your mind be winter, frosting the ink

Freeze what flows to represent what you think

Sonnet
6

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Holden Atencio12 days ago

    Love this one :) And the fluffy snow trees on the keyboard...

  • Cold is harsh and cold can burn. Cold is a teacher and it'll make you learn. Lol, I don't know what nonsense it that, just ignore it. Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    I don't experience winter where I'm from but I found this poem to be wonderful.

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    Winter is my favorite season.❄️ I love your blend of words capturing its spellbinding essence.

  • Gigi Gibson5 months ago

    So lovely! And I like the snowflakes in between the lines too. It looks pretty.

  • Toby Heward5 months ago

    Lovely winter poetry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.