Poets logo

Cold

A son losing his father

By Thomas HawkinsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Just Cold...

The glowing full moon so big, so bright casts down upon my memory a revelatory silver light

The stars above the earth below, not one thing stirred 'neath feet of snow.

His life, my father, so dear to me hung in the balance. But then like ice in spring he went off to peace.

I held his hand while at death's door sad that I found tears froze my feet only hit the floor.

It wasn't for lack of pain or shortage of love we both had our own ways to go and maybe there are things of which a man just knows

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thomas Hawkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.