Poets logo

Coin Flip

A Brain Story

By Karen LaRuePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Having a brain that

Can one day conquer the world

And the next barely read

Makes me feel like ripping out every hair on my head

Bit by bit

To punish it for its malfunction

The headaches hit and it seems as if

This is happening anyway

I mean, I still have my hair

But the brain is gone

Hidden so deep in the foggy wilderness of nothing

That I’m not sure I will ever get it back

And then it shows up

“Good as new”

And works for a bit

Showing me what it’s capable of

Reminding me of what my baseline “should” be

Then trouncing off into the wilderness again

Leaving me lost and alone

Unable to do basic things

When just the day before I could do all the things

I had to learn patience

And gentleness

With myself

Because my brain

It’s doing its best

In there

No matter how thick the fog

And the days when its voice is so far away that I’m alone

I will sit

And persist until its re-arrival

With the realization

That I will always be two sides of this coin

And must come to grips

With the reality that each day

That coin might flip

inspirational

About the Creator

Karen LaRue

I am Karen LaRue (She/Her) a North Carolina writer of poetry and witchy things of most sorts. I belive life is full of wonder and we don't always stop to see it. Taking the time to look and listen makes life worth living!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Karen LaRueWritten by Karen LaRue

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.