Poets logo

Coffee.

A poem about java.

By CatPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

They set you down

and you were black.

Shiny thin.

Sometimes,

I like it

like that.

I breathed you in at the table.

I couldn’t wait to finally

drink you.

But,

for some reason

I felt you were flawed

And I just couldn’t fully

accept you.

You were far too dark

-and bold-

For my liking.

Even though

dressed in all white.

I knew pouring in some

purity

could do you some justice.

Could make your dark senses

go right.

I gazed as you transitioned.

the creamer swirled and made

pretty clouds.

The dark components in combat with

the light,

all the while without making

a single sound.

After pouring the milk of

human kindness,

it was time for the

sugar and spice.

I was so excited to get a taste of the

new you.

You taking care of me is just so very nice.

I played with you for a bit,

spun and twirled you around.

But when the time came to finally drink you,

my predictions of how you would taste

were quickly

shut down.

I liked you better much better

at black.

For that

I ask you once again darken.

Stay as dark as a deep, starry night,

so my senses can become fully sharpened.

Please stay as purely as you are

for as long as I will ever need you.

To revive me from all my nightmares,

no longer will I let

lighter components rearrange you.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.