Poets logo

Coffee and a Poem

A match made in heaven

By Kevin KlabonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
8
Coffee and a Poem
Photo by SnapbyThree MY on Unsplash

When I write poetry, it is with pen and paper and hand; I prefer this over modern means. When I drink my coffee, it is dark and black because life isn’t bitter enough.

Often I find myself sitting outside staring and wondering till something comes to mind. I smoke my cigar and drink my brew because it is what I prefer to do.

There is no right. There is no wrong. They’re only impressions of life, gives and takes - Because without ups and Downs, just what would you write?

Yes, poetry and coffee go hand-in-hand and exist the same as song and dance. Open wounds can be a Muse, yes, the kind that do not mend.

What shall I write on this chill and windy day? Will it rhyme, will it flow - what are the words I choose to say? I don't know; I'll keep writing, and then we will see what will be.

It is getting cold, and my hands are becoming stiff, but somehow, the ink still flows parallel to the endless waves. Onward I nudge my pen; let us finish this poem.

And like that, the wind has relaxed, and my paper no longer flops. But still, the sky is dark - and here comes the rain - it's best that I finish; I don't want my words being washed away.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Love coffee but for me music is a must. Great poem and topic!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Your poem is a great combination of elegant and open emotion, dashes of rhyme and narrative on life.

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Lovely work here. Sadly my grasp of poetry is still stuck on ‘does it have to rhyme’ but I’m learning.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Outstanding poem 🙂👌

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This is the kind of poem you have to read aloud to appreciate its flow. Gorgeous. Please come back and write more 😊

  • Some wonderful words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.