Poets logo

Carrion Step

Final call

By Kevin KlabonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Carrion Step
Photo by Kevin Mueller on Unsplash

When the hammer falls, it comes down hard.

Should I bother, should I even try?

I know what's in store, I know the next card

It is played like any other, easy to read and easy to die.

Did I see death smile?

I've been led to believe, to trust in fate that I have a chance.

So skillful is the art, so wicked the guile.

Lone is my shadow, my heartbreaking dance.

Worry is a poison that fills my life.

Nothing is pretty, and flowers do not bloom.

My side and chest were pierced by the knife.

Days become the night, in this infinite gloom.

My spirit is in flight

My descent burns up my wings, silent screams as I fall.

Death you are my blight.

This sudden knock at my door, Carrion Step, final call.

Eternal sleeping, beautifully blue

Corpus delicti - my corpse displaying truth.

My remains subdued

Carrion to soothe - Carrion dance with me. Carrion will soothe - so carry on lucid youth.

Carrion is the absolute truth.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 7 months ago

    I really like this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.