Poets logo

Cocoon

Broken Dreams

By Street CornerPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have to be honest, open, and willing to receive. I have to clarify what I mean. I am emerging from my cocoon. I am releasing the urges from my womb. I am finally setting myself free. I am not doing this for you, him, or her. I am doing this for me. I need to see what I have climbed, lost in time, and stand firmly on borrowed time. This is it. This is me. Take a good look, because it is the last time you see, the insane one, the one who has to flee. I am me.

I have come home, to fertile lands, with broken and knarled hands. Dirty and bruised, shame and used. But you see, as I crawled here on my knees, I followed faith, insight, a chance to maybe get it right. All the signs led me home. All the signs of fate, opened the gate. Don't you see my spirituality set me free. I don't give a damn what they whisper about me. They say she's crazy, look at her, she is wasting away, everyday. Every day, they are right about my sight. It's what they can't see, that makes them afraid. I already turned that page, I already said goodbye to their fickle ways. I could care less what they say about me. You see, no...you don't see, you don't understand me. Why I waste my days, praying and practicing what I preach. I preach the gospel of wrongs and rights, signs and times, in hopes you see, but you never do. So this time I had to do something for me. Selfish as that seems, you just don't fit into my world of what you think is make believe. Believe me, when I say, I can't take you with me on this one, I can't let you destroy what I have made. Illusions of what you are is not what facts have proved. You aren't right for me, and I am wrong for you. I learned this the hard way. Everyday is the hard way with you. And my restless soul is tired and worn. So with this said, and full days work in my head. I am letting you go, I am washing my hands with promises you made, maybe one day you'll see, maybe, but it won't be with me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.