Poets logo

Coconut Pie

Just a slice

By Joan HallPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Coconut Pie
Photo by David Holifield on Unsplash

A slice of coconut pie

With meringue so high

My taste buds awoke

I tell you no joke

It’s better to eat than just eye.

~~~~~~~~

The limerick challenge sounded like a lot of fun, and after a couple of friends encouraged me, I decided to give it a try. I'm not a poet and this is my first attempt at writing limericks. I wrote four, two of which are reflective while the other two are a bit humorous.

Since yesterday, March 14, was Pi day, it had me thinking about a different type of pie—coconut cream. Sit back, and enjoy a slice.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Joan Hall

Joan Hall writes mystery and suspense. Her writing is often inspired by her love of music. She likes full moons, cats, classic rock, and small-town life. Connect with Joan at https://joanhall.net

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    I would rather eat it too. Good one.

  • Mae Clairabout a year ago

    LOL! That was fun, Joan. Tasty, too! 😉

  • Priscilla Bettisabout a year ago

    Oh YES! Coconut pie! This one made me smile, Joan.:-)

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    Coconut pie -- my dad's favorite. I loved this one, leaves a sweet taste for sure. ❤️

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    Much better to eat. Well done.

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I agree much better to eat than just lokk at or pas by!

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    Amen to that, my friend!

  • Staci Troiloabout a year ago

    The pie is pretty, but I'd rather eat it, too. Nicely done.

Joan HallWritten by Joan Hall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.