Poets logo

Closed Doors

Dis-connected: Vol 1 - 15 (ᴏғ ᴀ ᴘᴇʀꜱᴏɴ) ʟᴀᴄᴋɪɴɢ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴀᴄᴛ ᴡɪᴛʜ ʀᴇᴀʟɪᴛʏ. ᴀ ᴄᴏʟʟᴇᴄᴛɪᴏɴ ᴏғ ᴍʏ ᴅᴇᴇᴘᴇꜱᴛ ғᴇᴇʟɪɴɢꜱ ɪɴ ɪᴛ'ꜱ ᴍᴏꜱᴛ ᴅʀᴀᴍᴀᴛɪᴄ ꜱᴛᴀᴛᴇ.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Closed Doors
Photo by Pono Lopez on Unsplash

15. Closed Doors

Another door closes, slams into my face everytime I feel I'm close it's a sore mistake. Have hope, be kind, and things will go your way they say but unfortunately for me it's never been that day. Just a girl with big dreams in a city that's constantly failing but to no avail every path I take leads to a dead end. Why is this a trend? When will this end? When will happiness become apart of my life with consistents? I don't know how much more of this I can take! Another door slams into my face. Things got so bad I had to question if it's me. I had to grow up and change my personality. To be a sweet and thoughtful person was always the key at least to me. However, in a world like this a person like that will get squished and I couldn't allow myself to be walked over so I drowned the guilt by not being sober. Here it is, it's 2018 and here I am stuck at thirteen still that same sad, depressed, scared little girl who doesn't know a thing especially not about the pain that's coming. Oh but she will see! See that life isn't at all what it's cracked up to be. Another door slams shut in front of me. One thing I hate is feeling stuck. So imagine my discontent to be living in my tower locked away like Rapunzel. Plot twist, I locked myself away to escape the outside world. Why you ask? Well let me tell you boys and girls. Outside of my tower is nothing but a cruel world with even crueler people populating it. One that I'm tired of living in. Is this poem the beginning or the end?

sad poetry

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia LedellWritten by Alicia Ledell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.