Poets logo

Climbing Currents

the flagship poem

By Tony MartelloPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
2
cover art by Pete Forbes

Climbing the currents again-

Cat claws through water

Squalls squealing her name

She’s at it again, and since then, I haven’t been the same

Streams ripping through soil

Rivers rolling through sand

Tap dancing rain

Rattles my skull

Maid, take my hand

Where am I headed?

No way to tell

Gotta hang on

Get me out of this spell

A fervent front marches in

I seek a break in the clouds

I catch a breeze of Plumeria bringing me back to land

Reaching out for brazen arms of refuge

She longs to take me in

Blazing eyes, golden green, like none I’ve ever seen

Climb, climbing higher, reaching for her hand

Cents buried under ground

Nuggets settling down

Or, do I really belong land-locked on dirt?

I paddle out again and don’t wanna get hurt

Maybe I’ll take a nap in my boat, and wake up right on course

Clawing for crumbs again

There must be loaves on land

Sand shifting far below

Waves chopping up above

I consider giving in, and then, I begin reaching for a pen again

Writing my story once more

Full circle comes around

Rip tides swirl the sand

Now I’m back again

Climbing currents with my hands

Hourglasses spend the sand

Dollars sinking down

She washes off my frown

And asks me, “How long you’ve been out there?”

“Ten years too long! ” My vessel’s all broken up. Too much twisting and clawing”

She invites me in boldly

Magma veins warm me up

My eyes, salt-crusted over

It's pretty tough to see

Her roots dig deeply

Down far below the sea

Into the mantle, her veins flow to Pele’s navel- an inferno underneath

Returning heat and offering great warmth for my soul

Getting tired of paddling

Reaching far for the oars

I ain’t no land animal- getting stranded on shore

Flames blaze in her eyes

Amiable mist shrouds her hair

Steam sizzles off her face

Is this really my place?

Like obsidians curse, she cuts me to the core

This goddess offers me a drink of life, but I’m tired and sore

She reaches out, “Take my hands! You’ve traveled far enough!

Rest your tired oars and leave your boat in the sand”

Now, once again, I don’t know which way to go...

Back out to sea

or stay and be enveloped in her warmth

So, I get back in my boat

Reaching far for the oars

Doing it all over again

Climbing currents to the bone

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Tony Martello

Join an author like no other on various tales that entertain, philosophies that inspire, and lessons that transform us. He is inspired by nature, the ocean, and funny social interactions. He is the author of Flat Spell Tales and much more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Magma veins warm me up was my favourite line! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.