Poets logo

Clearing Out Clothes

Letter to my grandfather

By KodahPublished 4 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
11
https://www.pinterest.com.au/pin/225743000064980768/

Dear Grandpa,

~

I cleared out your clothes today.

I saw your favorite shirt,

And your favorite grey wooly jumper,

You always used to wear in winter.

The clothes still smell like you~

That one jumper and shirt,

Still remind me of your presence,

Embracing nothing but positivity,

Once stepping into a room,

Making the environment feel warm and graceful.

I still cherish your favorite clothes~

~

It brought back loads of nostalgic memories,

Back when you raised me,

It reminded me of the times back when I had someone,

Someone who understood me~

~

I hope death,

Is like when you would carry me out of the car to my bed,

Still hearing the laughter from the next room over~

I hope you come by flying down,

From the sky as beautiful dove,

Who has nothing but access to freedom,

Collecting my soul on the way,

To show my perseverance of learning to survive without you.

I miss you~

~

Authors Notes:

Thank you so much for reading my letter! ๐Ÿ’–

Free Versesad poetryperformance poetryMental Healthlove poemsheartbreakFamily
11

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~๐“ข๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ช ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฝ๐“ต๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ฎ๐“น~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    A wonderful tribute to your grandfather. I feel your love for him throughout.

  • This was such a beautiful tribute to your grandfather! May his soul rest in peace ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผ

  • Jade Loson4 months ago

    Beautiful story your sharing Kodah! Sending love โค๏ธ

  • Lunaverse4 months ago

    Beautiful poem, absolutely beautiful and poignant! Sending lots of love to youโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธ So sorry for your loss

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.