Poets logo

Classic Cartoons

An ode to classic cartoons

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10

Sufferin' succotash

What's up, Doc?

Saturday morning

Best time on the clock

* * *

Animation galore

On my TV screen

For several hours

It's quite a scene

* * *

The modern shows

Simply won't do

Give me the Looney Tunes

Tom and Jerry, too

* * *

Popeye's a bad-ass

Pink Panther is cool

Yogi's a legend

Classic cartoons rule

* * *

Voice legends a-plenty

Blanc, Butler, Foray

Their humorous dialogue

Totally makes my day

* * *

Classic cartoons are awesome

For people young and old

They are a joy to watch

An epic sight to behold

* * *

So I'll end this sweet ode

Putting aside one-liners and jokes

Just three simple words

"That's all folks!"

vintage
10

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Well done! A lot of my old favorites are in here.

  • This was great fun

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Bravo!👏 Yes! The kids were entertained Saturday mornings. Loving your ode to the Classic Cartoons💕

  • This brought about some great memories and the ending is a classic! Great job!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Love it This bring me back to fond memories of childhood. Definitely a comfort poem 😍🥰

  • Good one. I really enjoyed it.

  • Foghorn Leghorn! Elmer, Bugs and my favorite, Pepe le Pew! I adore this...well done!!!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I loved these cartoons! <3

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    This is amazing! Love it!

  • Trevor Wells2 years ago

    Lovely poem, Clyde; perfect combo of funny and sentimental <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.