Poets logo

Clarity

Poetry by VOR

By VORPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Clarity
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Do I give too much? I need to know.

Is it naïve to believe that if I sow love, it will grow?

Grandmother buried her husband, then found another who stayed until her last day.

Mother raised her children alone, all the men went away.

So young thinking I knew all there was to know about life.

Just be successful, find a husband and be a good wife.

Thinking that if I live that dream then all would be fine.

No one told me I was the future, and the world was mine.

Growing up how I did, I knew this life could be rough.

Knowing what I know now, I see that then I knew not nearly enough.

I made choices that put my life on a path that I did not want.

I am taking accountability for me now, I will not front.

Yes though the cards that I was dealt made me strong. Made me tough.

I was always a queen, I was always enough.

I look back and now realize I neglected myself.

I look back and now see, I never needed their help.

Any help being greatness, and all that I can.

All that I can be, and all that I am.

I think of the minds I can reach, all the good I can do.

All the hearts I can touch, and that includes yours too.

I can be a martyr, and fight the good fight.

Put my life on the line for all that is right.

I will keep my mind open and never stop learning.

I will never again forget that I am deserving.

No more stealing my joy and peace, only take what they get.

I’ll strive to be someone they will never forget.

To the one who inspires me, you are my calm after the storm.

Athough you’re not here you are keeping me warm.

Can I tell you of all the ways you inspire me.

More like challenge me to reach deeper inside of me.

I see that I am a big deal, as big as this earth.

I can see my greatness, I see my worth.

Very few people have come along and made me feel like a blessing.

Thank you for wanting and enjoying this expression.

love poemsperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry
Like

About the Creator

VOR

Writer.

Follow me on Instagram and facebook @writtenbyvor

Tips welcomed and encouraged.

All inquiries email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.