Poets logo

Circles of Betrayal

Around and around.

By Ruth StewartPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
8
Circles of Betrayal
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

Golden lights flicker

'round your beating heart,

Goodness glows

Light-heartedness abounds.

*

Still, my anxious heart

Tick. Tick. Tick.

It knows.

*

And they come,

Still, they come.

*

I see, from a distance

They come closer,

Darker, Blacker.

Fear prickles through me.

*

And they come,

Still, they come.

*

Silently swirling their capes

The heavy darkness drags

Invisibly covering your warm light

Snuffing it out.

*

They have come.

Yes, they come.

*

They walk away gleeful

Knowing what comes next

They know the torture

They know the pain.

*

You carry on

Battling inside

Warmth has gone

Cold black embraces you.

*

You have come.

You have come.

*

Ice-cold slivers dance and jostle

For their place around your heart

Freezing, snowy, frigid

No room for a lick of warmth

Your eyes and heart, the same.

*

Until the day

The siren approaches

White light, floats around you

Smiles appear, but eyes stay cold.

*

Here she comes.

Here she comes.

*

Tortured, twisting,

Coiling, circling,

Hypnotised.

*

Secrets come, yes

Secrets come.

*

The bubble bursts,

The splinters cut,

The words destroy,

I weep, the smoking tatters

Burn my hands.

*

It had to come

It did come.

*

The circle then

Begins again,

I know it well,

As you can tell.

*

I wait, I know,

I know.

And they come.

And they come.

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I WAS SO HOOKED BY THIS. The glow the word choice the repetition. 😊

  • This was enrapturing so well crafted. Quite impressive Ruth!

  • Oof, this hit me so hard! I loved how emotional this was!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Ruth!! This is so good. I felt to emotion in this piece. Great job.

  • Amjad Ateih Dib10 months ago

    I like your way of writing keep going

  • Ta, muchly!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This was a very difficult read for me....but, you penned it masterfully and it really is dripping in raw emotion and so many of your word and phrase choices are sublime! Well done, darling!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.