Poets logo

Cinnamon Toast

Just what the doctor ordered?

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
16
Cinnamon Toast
Photo by Dawn Kim on Unsplash

Now this really takes me back:

the comfort that meant the most

when sick: my mama made a snack

beyond compare: Cinnamon Toast.

{}

Simple, really; it's just bread

store bought like every-day

but I perked up when she said

she'd make it in that special way.

{}

Toasted light, but with a crunch

slathered thick with margarine

just the thing to have for lunch

and sure to bring a grin.

{}

Seeing sweet dust of sugar grains

among the spicy brown!

no matter the aches and pains

I'd gobble the pieces down.

{}

My mom would use the special plate

for sick kids (this time for me!)

She sit by me while, bundled up, I ate

near the portable black & white TV.

{}

It was simple, just a snack

but more than snack, it meant

'I love you' as she made that stack

Of spicy, sweet, butter-like scent.

{}

She'd mix the magic, stir it nice

each piece she'd cut in four

small triangles, each mini-slice

for flu or cold the cure.

{}

Just buttery, sugar, cinnamon

on wee triangles of toast

(though being sick was never fun)

this is the snack I miss the most.

{}

Now, I am old and cannot eat

that sugar (pre-diabetic: it's my blood)

nor eat bread that's made of wheat!

NO pasta, rice, or spud!

{}

But, sometimes, buying groceries,

I stop and catch a whiff

of sweetness making memories freeze

and my wondering mind ask 'What if?"

{}

What if it really was a spell?

Some magic, myth, or lore?

That suddenly made a child feel well?

And an adult long for more?

~~~~~~~

Is cinnamon toast in your happy memories? Do you eat it still today?

Leave a comment and let me know!

abab

childrens poetrySonnetFamily
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    Thank you for this, Judey. Cinnamon toast rated up there for me, too, along with honey butter toast. Ah, the memories, but like you, I make healthier, but not as tasty, choices now.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I am not a fan, but so happy it made you happy. The delicious things that we have to give up as the darned years roll along. Lovely memories Judey. A bite now and then, hopefully for you.

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    Oh man cinnamon toast was so good, haven’t had it in years!

  • Rasma Raisters2 months ago

    Loved this and now i need some cinnamon toast

  • PP2 months ago

    Cinnamon toast + mom's magic 💖💖💖

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    OMG - cinnamon toast! It does feel special when someone makes it for you 💖

  • I've never had cinnamon toast before, only cinnamom rolls. But I've gotta try this! Your poem was so sweet and nostalgic!

  • I had never had cinnamon toast until I was married. My wife had it all the time growing up. She got me using cinnamon sugar on lefse as well. But no need to be sick in order to have it. It's good comfort food whenever.

  • Heather Zieffle 2 months ago

    We ate this too! Lovely poem brining back lovely memories 🥰

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Love cinnamon toast! (especially cut in triangles)

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Cinnamon toast is delicious!! This made me so hungry for some :)

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Yes! There are cinnamon toast on homemade bread in my memories. Fantastic snacktime poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Teresa Renton2 months ago

    Oh I love cinnamon toast! You brought back those memories with your poetry 🥰

  • What a delightfully rhyming poem filled with nostalgia… It made me think of my no fuss mother, with a heart of gold. Cinnamon teacake was a treat in our home but not cinnamon toast,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.