Poets logo

Christmas Reinvented

Chapter 2024

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Christmas Reinvented
Photo by Reuben Teo on Unsplash

Twas the night before Christmas

Doesn’t feel like Christmas at all

I’ve wrapped up the presents

That I picked up at the mall

I snacked on some popcorn

Put my new sweatpants on

I’m binging some Bourne

Waiting for the girls to come home

The dogs are all snuggled up

On the couch by my side

They’ve eaten their dinner

I’ve grabbed my phone up, to write

Watching the lights twinkling on the tree

Memories bring a smile

As I think of family

The first time without dad

The sixth without mom

I struggle not to feel sad

Remembering where I came from

Christmas lives in my heart

Not what’s under the tree

Today’s a new start

With my family of three

Incredibly thankful

Knowing that we’ll be alright

Merry Christmas to all

And to all, a good night

surreal poetrylove poemsHolidayFamily

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    I hope you enjoyed a wonderful Christmas with your girls. Blessings to you & yours, Kelli.

  • Mark Graham6 months ago

    Quite the twist on a Christmas classic and it brought back memories for me as well.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is just gorgeous. The flow is perfect.

  • Awww, loved your wonderful poem! Merry Christmas! 🥰🥰🥰

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Merry Christmas 🎄 Kelli ❤️

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Love this!! Merry Christmas

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Merry Christmas

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    Merry Christmas friend.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.