Poets logo

Choose to Love You

A poem about loving yourself

By Ashley FieldsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Choose to Love You
Photo by Bart LaRue on Unsplash

What am I doing now, do I even know anymore?

I feel like everything that happened has shaken me to my core.

Losing everything and now I’m left with only lonely days.

I’ve been stripped away from everything that has ever felt okay.

So, what am I to do now when it seems love has replaced?

With a strange kind of look-alike that now sits in old space.

Hanging on to what I know and what I want to see.

Scared that something meant nothing, it truly was to be.

Why must it be that I choose between love and need?

I stumble and I fall searching for truth without a lead.

I fight for the right thing but the love I’m trying to find?

Lies within an answer that doesn’t fit the rhyme.

So, is the answer something that just won’t ever fit?

When there isn’t a choice, I guess that will just be it?

But what if there is nothing left for that you need to choose?

I guess the choice is easy when you have nothing to lose.

When you are left with nothing, no matter what the choice.

Both decided to hurt and shatter the girl without a voice.

So, if you are alone and feel stuck without a clue.

Remember, the past is gone and now there is nothing left but you.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Ashley Fields

I'm a book and a story just waiting to be discovered. The question is, do you like to read?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.