Poets logo

Choose only just not to decide

a story of being stuck inbetween

By S. Gabriela Heitzinger Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge
10
Choose only just not to decide
Photo by Katerina Pavlyuchkova on Unsplash

staring straight ahead

focus sharper than a blade

not admiring the garden

behind either sides gate

catching a small piece

of both beauties

in the corner of my eye

fearing that just turning

my back would imply

the other sides forever goodbye

.

before me a child

tripping crying

and I almost smiled

it´s not me

it´s not enough

it´s not who i wanted to be

usually, i am kind

but when i look inside

i am devil and angel combined

.

way up high

i see a plane fly by

i don´t mean to pry

are they coming back

or

did they just say goodbye

i want it all

everything i´ve never seen

and everywhere i´ve already been

i want to go where i´m not known

but at the same time

wouldn´t it be nice just to

have a home

.

distant church bells ringing

my mother's echoing conviction

adding to my confliction

hearing

and no longer believing

göthe´s way of perceiving

a hint of doubt remains

allah is there

my father explains

i don´t know how to feel

what to believe

something´s gotta be real

to know just what

or even if

would be ideal

.

earphones in

spotify on

my playlist changing language

with every song

foreign tongues

don´t hit as strong

polite but

not that personal

maybe that´s why i cry

at every german song

even with words

i don´t know

where i belong

english

my schoolteacher's whole pride

my mother tongue

my austrian pride

my french died

at my father's side

.

i love you

always

ich liebe dich

not ever

je t´aime

maybe

not really

not since forever

.

dead end road

that´s all the personality i have

to provide

big white 25

mocking me left and right

no, that´s not right

either

or

just one side

maybe just to stay is alright

happily, forever having a piece

of either side

choose

choose only just

not to decide

.

oh

how much i could want

to have been

if not only ever

just in between

_

hey guys! This is about half of the poem I have written. Maybe I´ll post the full piece another time. I´m just not ready to share it yet. Hope you enjoyed it and I look forward to reading your posts. <3

social commentary
10

About the Creator

S. Gabriela Heitzinger

I'm a filmmaker from Vienna who loves to do literally anything artsy. From drawing and painting to music to arts and crafts to screenwriting to... I also love to write:) AND read ;) thanks for stopping by <3

Insta: @gabshxtshow

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    I did enjoy it Gabriela, but it left me with a feeling of unfinished business. I liked how you slipped the Deutsch and French in there. There's palpable sadness and longing that feels to me like a Salzburg cavern bar. (Where I first had Crown Royal and Red Bull.) It's very good!

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    This was so amazing! I hope you do share the full poem someday, I'd love to read the rest. I really love the flow of it, and the part about the different languages was fascinating to me. Thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.