Poets logo

Choose Me As I Am

Shallow has never been I

By Rita Montgomery (Pearl M.)Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I am NOT the Woman who will kiss your lying lips, and tell myself that bitter taste should just be washed down..

You can choke on those words you spilled from your selfish, twisted tongue..

I am NOT the Woman who will heed the agenda filled warnings of those who label the wise ones crazy..

You can break apart from your inability to acknowledge the truth that is slapping you in the face..

I am NOT the Woman who will cater to your Bad habits you candy coat in excuses of past afflictions..

You can climb that mountain of karmic, rocky cliffs until you learn you are your own way to the top.

I am NOT the Woman who will full-fill your fantasy ideologies of a submissive, fixable wife; who will bend to your will, while degrading my worth, and integrity..

You can shove your petty pictures of a perfect girl into your box of weak, and cliche minded collectibles..

I am NOT the Woman who will subject my faith to your fearful, hateful beliefs on the power of spirituality..

You can preach to the choir while you forget your own reflection, or you can bury your head in the sand while you pretend the grains came from nothingness..

I am NOT the Woman who will tear apart the values of the feminine in my bones to fit your half hearted empowerment woes..

You can wave your flags of hypocrisy, and hyphenated phrases that keep you stuck on the shoreline of limited self space

I am Both Fury and Peace, Both a Warrior and Nurturer, Both a Fighter and a Lover, Both Loyal to those I care for, and Guarded of my own heart.. There are no pieces of me you can alter to fit elsewhere..

Choose me as I am, or lose me where you wade in the shallows.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Rita Montgomery (Pearl M.)

I am Mother of two. A Poet and Freelance Writer (First Poetry Book coming Soon!), Artist, Dark and Light Academia enthusiast, Mental Health Advocate, and Lover of the Deep and Intellectual insight.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.