Poets logo

Choices

Some need to be made every day

By E.B. MahoneyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Choices
Photo by Jan Tinneberg on Unsplash

I decided I'm not chasing them anymore.

Sometimes it's still hard, not going out of my way,

but the people who want to be here, will be.

And those who don't want to lose me,

will stay.

I decided I'm choosing myself, for the first time

in a long time. And it still feels selfish sometimes.

But it also feels like waking up.

I'm choosing unconditional love,

even if it hurts to let go.

I decided that it is not my responsibility

to communicate for the both of us,

to figure out your side.

I might have unending theories

but I need to be content with never knowing for sure,

To find closure in what seems impossible to unravel,

yet has unshakeable truth simply in remaining unclear.

I used to choose you every day,

and it has taken time to change old habits.

For that love was unconditional, even in the pain,

And it is hard to remember, even in its reality,

the reasons for sudden endings and change,

and the importance never to return

or choose the same mistakes.

I stand for myself, vibrant, imperfect, beautiful.

Because I have held on for long enough.

Time to choose everyday, what to let go,

and that which stays.

Author's Note: This poem is a work of fiction. Similarities to real world events are coincidental.

heartbreaklove poems
1

About the Creator

E.B. Mahoney

Aspiring author, artist, and sleep deprived student. Based in Australia, E.B. Mahoney enjoys climbing trees, playing a real-world version of a fictional sport, and writing in the scant spare time she has left.

Instagram

Pax tecum Tom Bradbury

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.