Poets logo

Childhood's Creation Inside Me

Trauma

By angela descalzoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I feel sadness.

Like a best friend of mine who I have not seen in a while, yet is always there for me.

I know she is there for me at all times.

A shoulder to cry on, or is it the weight of her cries on my shoulder..

She is always accompanied by pain.

They have birthed joy by my gifted turmoil.

I run to the open arms of lonliness and welcomed by the embrace of enveloping darkness.

A security I longed to never surrender.

Abandon I am and the pain it remains; the aquaintances of pity and shame.

I sag the shoulders of defeat as regret invites me into the downward slope of self-loath

While guilt reminds me of the hatred I tried to forget within myself.

Inside this dark place, I find a little girl. She has seen fright, terror, gore, and much more.

Lost is a word to describe the look of eyes that gaze around as if a century of time has passed but her broken soul can no longer interpret.

Deciphering simple logic seems a foreign concept since it was never taught with conception.

And we grow together; broken but as one.

Broken shards and wholeness stains; the reminder of perserverance to those with unseen scars.

I do not live in a glass house

Because the rocks have already been thrown and turned to mountainous boulders.

And I have never lived in such a foundated home from dawn to day break.

Birth to theraputic receptions,

I give thanks to the efforts of glass and glue

The walls began to conform a unity

Now, all I see is stone.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.aafp.org%2Ffpm%2F2019%2F0300%2Fp5.html&psig=AOvVaw2U0240GkttM3wi5XMsiVmG&ust=1652552995901000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAwQjRxqFwoTCOiM0u6N3fcCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAJ

Image Link

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

angela descalzo

I kept a journal ever since I was a child, often writing poetry, trying to express expression in a way that could be percieved and acknowledged when it is most misunderstood. To show my truth and maybe relate to others with buried truths.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.