Poets logo

Child's play

Boy and the man .

By Michael_AngeloPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Child's play
Photo by Yukon Haughton on Unsplash

In an open grove there sat a man and a boy,

The man stood up and set down his toys.

where are you going? asked the boy.

Man:I am a man and no longer play with toys.

So off the man strode in to the world,

up over a hill and far out of sight of the grove .

After walking for some time, the path became

dusty and unclear. So he took the side road and stopped for a beer.

Time gave to time and that time turned in to years .

Man:Well about time I got out of here.

Back on to the path which he assured himself he knew so well.

In to a town he walked. Up past a windowsill,

there smiled a woman, so beautifully she said; her name was Michelle.

Woman:Come in handsome stranger, stay for awhile.

Time gave to time and that time turn in to years.

Man:Well about time I got out of here.

Walking long and far a way from his shame,

He said to himself:I grow tired of this walking game.

But on ward he venture in to a field .There he found many men,

who were working .One man handed him a shovel “here young

man let stir up some trouble!”

So they began to dig many trenches, with a rife in the other hand

they took their defenses .

Time gave to time and those left, came to their senses......

Man: here now I lay, in my dying breath...

With my best intentions I fought like the rest.

So far from the grove now, he cried: for surly I am lost .

Then came a voice: please wipe your tears, come play with

me .

The man looked around in fear, to his surprise; there stood the boy!

Man: where did you come from?

Boy: I was always right here .

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Michael_Angelo

I live and work in Canada and I've had a love of poetry and story making since I was a child. With age, I have only taken on more life experience to draw from. I have been and lived in this country from coast to coast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Robbie Cheadleabout a year ago

    I enjoyed your poem and it has a lovely ending.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.