Poets logo

Child of the Woods

Returning Home

By Kristen JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Child of the Woods
Photo by Rachel McDermott on Unsplash

Though the sun climbs upward toward the stars

The moon clings to his lofty perch

So I sip my tea ‘neath the buckeye tree

And lift my eyes to search

No sleep for the wicked, the saying goes

For I cannot find my bed

I’ve searched all day, yet lost my way

Watch the ticking clock with dread

Beware the children of the woods, I’m told

As I trudge through marsh and field

Heed the siren’s call and you shall fall

To horrors yet concealed

I cannot hope to know wherefore

The demons call my name

While I feel their pull, the basketful

Of posies keep me sane

The heavenly battle rages on

O’er a world that I disown

The piercing scream would surely seem

To sadly be my own

I wish I would have seen him step

From deep within those trees

His blade draws back and with a whack

He sends me to my knees

The creatures who crawl within these woods

Would drag me down to hell

So sure I’m dead, I cradle my head

And await the final bell

I hear the killing blow that comes

But it does not come for me

My saving grace, she shares my face

With a smile of victory

As the demon’s broken body fades

I can hear the siren’s song

And I realize to my surprise

I was singing all along

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.