Poets logo

Child of the Wind, Part Two

Tornado

By Andrea Corwin Published 4 months ago 1 min read
7
Child of the Wind, Part Two
Photo by reiv on Unsplash

I am a child of the Wind.

The storm stoked that night,

Battering the house, blasting

Blowing

Suddenly, the quiet before the storm

Eerie calm, a silenced wind,

Soundlessness surrounded us

The swirling winds turned into a tornado

Ferociously fixing its fury

On our town.

Slamming the path of the unfinished street behind us,

a dug ditch soon to be a paved street

**

My cat was hiding and I searched while

Mom yelled at me to get

Below into the basement,

Wind whistled through the oven fan hood

Its screeching, creaking and rattling noise convinced me.

Startled, and scared, I ran down steep steps

Leaving my cat to ride it out from his hiding spot

Water ran down the concrete interior walls of the basement

Tornado country: Leave a window open;

the house won’t implode,

And a brother had done so.

Relentlessly, the storm raged.

Fatigue and fear gathered us until

a quiet descended, the calm after the storm.

Ascending to ground level,

The storm-savaged street showcased

Trees bent in half or torn out by the roots.

I am a child of the Wind.

****

This happened many years ago when I was in high school.

Our home damage was a bent and doubled in-half garage door, that had to be cut down to get the auto out. The cat was okay (I knew you would ask). Trees were twisted and destroyed. Some businesses were flattened; others were open for business but with no power for days. Some buildings only had the large display windows shattered.

The tornadoes weren’t Category 5 back then.

Image by PublicDomainPictures from Pixabay

nature poetryFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin - All Rights Reserved.

Using content without written permission is prohibited

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Katie Erdman4 months ago

    Whoa! I never heard this story. Thanks for sharing

  • I'm so relieved to know that cat's okay! I'm so grateful to be in a country without tornadoes, earthquakes or any other natural disasters 🥺🙏🏼❤️ Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.