Poets logo

Chicago Boy

The best love stories are the ones you don't expect.

By Jessica KleinPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
four years looks good on us

I remember bits and pieces of our first night.

Racing to my house after a late shift.

Frantically throwing together a Halloween costume.

Elephant pants. A white laced crop top. White Adidas. Braids.

Sprinting ten blocks to where my friends had drinks in hand.

Taking far too many shots of bottom-shelf liquor.

Following my friends to the next stop on our fraternity party tour.

Seeing my Freshman year crush dancing with another girl.

Smiling because I had moved on.

Drinking more mixed vodka and punch.

Waiting in line for a fraternity I had yet to visit.

Dancing the night away with my friends by my side.

Feeling elated and on top of the world.

I remember turning to see your face for the first time.

Wearing a Cubs hat and shirt with a Chicago flag.

Seeing you tower over everyone you stood next to.

Making eye contact with my friend who noticed me eyeing you.

Giggling as I made my way towards you.

Moving myself in front of you.

Dancing with you.

Melting as your hands met my waist.

Shivering as your mouth met my ear.

Wanting to hear your voice again as you told me your name.

Turning to face you.

Looking into those dark brown eyes.

Leaning in to kiss you.

I remember the feelings of excitement filling my mind that night.

Dancing with you for the rest of the party until the music died.

Bringing you back to my home to offer you toast.

Introducing you to my roommates as they swarmed the kitchen.

Asking you questions about yourself and you about mine.

Learning just how similar we really were.

Holding your hand in mine.

Looking into those dark brown eyes.

Smiling at you as you smiled at me.

Kissing you at my front door.

Yearning to see you more.

Wanting to follow you home to learn more.

Going home with you because you asked.

I remember the coming days after we met.

Texting you to keep our plans alive.

Coming to your dorm many nights.

Cuddling up beside you in your twin bed.

Knowing your roommates far too well.

Laughing out loud to jokes I'd never heard.

Opening up to one another about our darkest selves.

Wanting to know more about your world.

Exploring ourselves in ways I never had.

Making new memories I would cherish forever.

Learning to love you in the ways I knew how.

Cherishing the world we were creating.

Smiling at how easy everything was with you.

I remember the following years all too well.

Exploring the world together.

Supporting one another's achievements.

Bickering about silly little qualms.

Maintaining healthy and honest communication.

Being compassionate and kind to one another.

Learning to understand our differences.

Helping each other through our woes.

Continuing to teach one another.

Laughing with the other.

Cherishing the love we share.

Understanding we may not always be perfect.

Knowing that everything will be okay.

I will always remember that first night.

I will remember seeing your face.

I will remember dancing with you.

I will remember you telling me your name.

I will remember seeing your face.

I will remember kissing you.

I will remember going home with you.

I will remember falling in love with you that night.

I will remember continuing to fall in love with you every night since.

I will remember growing with you.

I will remember learning with you.

I will remember laughing with you.

I will always remember you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Klein

Therapist by day, writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.