Poets logo

Chesapeake Cove

Hand in Hand we walk

By Jessica MariePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Such a peaceful day.

Blue waters, reflection of

a crystal blue sky;

sunshine and puffy clouds,

Chesapeake Bay breeze.

Our secret cove

hidden by tall grasses

and leafy trees.

Powder white sand,

the perfect spot

by the grassy entrance.

I love watching you pitch the umbrella,

seagulls laughing over head;

I'm lost in taking your picture

yet a little voice reminds me to help.

I grab our beach blanket,

a favorite from the Mexican desert

(one we would love to visit one day)-

and spread it out on the sounds.

The waves call me,

we finish setting up-

but before I can run

to the water's edge,

you lather me up

in a pasty sunscreen.

You boop my nose

with a dollop of lotion,

I sneak a kiss in

before I run to the edge,

pebbles gathering seaweed.

The water is warm and calm,

I am like a fish,

and you're like the bull,

watching his favourite crab

explore her world,

while you stay in yours.

I splash you to remind you,

yet it's not a stubborn laugh,

we giggle for hours

in the hot sun and waves.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Jessica Marie

Writing since she was six years old, but became the writer she is today in sixth grade. She has three published books and appears in various publications. When she is not writing, she is an avid photographer, scrapbooker, and artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Really sweet poem! Good memories.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.