Poets logo

Chemistry 2.0

Life is a science, lets experiment

By Riley ForestPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Chemistry 2.0
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

So I'm hanging with my Fenty, Addy, Xanny, Molly, Mary, all my favorite girls.

I'm Looking for that H, that N2O, that THC,

That C10H12N2O, that L O V E,

Because I just want to feel free/I just want to be me

Feeling that bliss/lighting that cig between every kiss

Asking how far should I go? How much can I know? They say knowledge is power and I'm not opposed.

When I met you, I knew an ounce of your love would make weaning off my street made dopamine make my ass want to stay clean.

I huff that paint, try to drink the yellow, fill my soul with the color of sunshine, shoot off my ear, a tribute to you my dear.

//

You see the difference between me and you isn't that big, two bodies made from dust, now that our energy has been created there is no turning back. Only turning forms. Shapes. Places.

Our spirits are here/Time to raise your glass, fog those mirrors, cut the crack, shed yours tears/Let it all go/Let the emotions flow/For you and I are one.

We are chemistry, whether you react to me or not

My attraction to you is like that of two hydrogens to an oxygen/You make my atoms dance, the stardust in me comes alive again.

The Nitrogen, Hydrogen, Carbon and Oxygen that create me feel explosive when I'm next to you,

I am not fragile like a flower I am fragile like a bomb

We are chemistry

Just how baking is chemistry/Add too much water and your bread won't rise/Add too much water and our lungs will fill,

Add too much pressure and the rock becomes a diamond/Add too much pressure and our minds will crack.

Life is a science; I call myself a researcher

There are so many experiments yet to be done. I say I am done.

I am done.

But everyone knows for an experiment to be valid it needs to be repeated three times for accuracy--

So when I tell you that I want to get clean make sure I say it three times. And when you tell me that you love me make sure you say it three times.

Because we are chemistry

And on the days that I only hear you say it once, I will tell myself this:

My energy is already here so I can no longer be anymore destroyed than I can become alive/So I will do something/I will do something with my atoms/my molecules/my cells/I will let my mitochondria be those m*therf*cking power houses of the cells/I am here

Now, inhale that O2 and exhale that CO2,

Add some fuel and blow.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Riley Forest

(they/them)

Thanks for joining me on this adventure.

Reading and writing help me feel less alone. I love all forms of art.

Born in Alberta, CA. Based in Florida, US.

Link to my Youtube channel to see videos of my poetry!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.