Poets logo

Cheese Toastie

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
9
Photo by Author

You were forbidden to me - this only made the need greater,

I didn’t hate ya, but I took my grater and shaved you all over the crusty white bread.

Lashings of butter, salt and pepper, oh how I shudder to think that I couldn’t have ya,

no matter, you’ll be mine - tummy be damned!

Melting you under the grill, my mouth salivating, my heart elevating at the excitement of devouring you - this forbidden fruit that Mum said I couldn’t have,

too bad, so sad! Sorry Mum, I’m going for it!

Oh that first bite, outta sight! The gooey deliciousness, all buttery, warm and oozing,

I can’t believe how simple a food moves me, (and possibly right through me),

but I love you, my cheese toastie!

performance poetryhumor
9

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Omgggg that photooooo!!!! I want a cheese toastie nowwww!!!! Loved your poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    This made me hungry!!!! Great work!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    I am going to have a hard time with this challenge, especially when everyone seems to have taken my snack options! Wonderful walk down gastronomic lane! ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.