Poets logo

Check mate

Pond to A 1

By Jen PhillipsPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
4
Check mate
Photo by Seri on Unsplash

Checkmate bitch, it's my turn to go from the pawn to the Queen.

The difference between me, the pawn, and you, the rook, is that I levelled up and chose my own path while you stay in the past.

Watch me go from moving across the board observing the game and listen to you judge how small, stupid and weak I am.

But I've managed to cross the board with ease

Now watch me in my new levelled-up life execute the board and shine like the Queen I am.

I'm sorry. What, is the problem? Why are you upset now?

You're upset now because I've healed and outgrew you so now it's a problem?

It was a problem when I was a pawn in your chess game but now that I'm a Queen in my game I'm now a threat?

Shit, I'm sorry. When you figure out what it is you want feel free to keep it to yourself and keep me out of it.

Also, checkmate.

sad poetryinspirational
4

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I loved how powerful this was! Also, I may be wrong, but isn't that piece called "pawn"?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.