Poets logo

Chaos Baby

You never distracted me as much as in your absence.

By Tiffany MercerPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
7

Did you know it’s your disruptions that

I would miss the most?

Stray hairs,

Tan and clinging,

Rampant as tumbleweeds.

A snout nudging my elbows, requesting

Cucumber slices, noisily crunching.

Tail beating the wall at night, happy

In your dreams.

Only heartbreaking silence fills the spaces you left behind;

Never has quiet felt less peaceful.

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Tiffany Mercer

Just your basic, garden-variety fiction dweeb. :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga2 months ago

    Tiffany, your moving depiction of the void left by a cherished pet really makes one's heart sing. Little setbacks end up being the most treasured memories we miss.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    I agree with Paul; I didn’t even notice it was an acrostic at first, which makes it feel much more natural. This reminds me so much of each time I have lost a fur baby. It is so relatable and sweet. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    So so so relatable. I hate silence mostly, but also would miss our animals if they were gone. Well done on a great acrostic that didn't feel like an acrostic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.