Poets logo

Chaos and Comfort

An Edgar Allen Poe-inspired poem on forbidden love

By Natasha MorozovPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I turn around as the scent of lavender and Irish spring

Tickles my nose, a calming zephyr in the air doth bring

But it is the taste of Earl Grey tea, that soothes my soul

A warm, comforting embrace that makes me feel whole

My senses heightened, I become aware

Of the chaos that lurks, deep inside my lair

Yet, I hope that you can't see, the turmoil that swirls

My heart, it yearns, for your loving curls

Your soft humming, a melody so sweet

Dances in my ears, and I feel complete

But it also threatens, my walls of reserve

As it pulls at my tears, making me observe

Even with all the strength I have

It's hard to stay still, and not run to your salve

To the place where I feel most at ease

But my fears hold me back, and my worries do tease

I pray to any being that will hear

To give me the strength, to conquer my fear

To not break down and fall to my knees

To not leave myself as a mess, to please

My heart screams within my chest, it longs for your touch

My mind yells, nowhere is safe, not even as such

As I take a sip of Earl Grey tea, trying to settle my mind

My palms press deep into the edge of the bookshelf, I hope to find

The strength to resist, the urge to run

To hold back the chaos, to keep it shunned

And to face my fears, with a clear head

As I stand here, in this moment, on this precipice, I dread.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Natasha Morozov

Hello! My name is Natasha, and I have been a fan of fantasy, horror, and sci-fi stories for as long as I can remember. My professional background is in cyber security, but my true passion is in music and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece❤️😉📝Yea Edgar was Amazing and is one of my favorites❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.