Poets logo

Chances Are

Brief Encounter

By Cindy CalderPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

"Maybe in some parallel universe we found each other.....we are meant to run toward one another....chances are, I'll never know." Erin Van Vuren

Darkness lingers

Before the dawn

Of awareness and revelation.

I stretch out my hand

And touch the air.

I can feel it:

The vibration

Of a parallel universe.

*

From the other world

You step in, a seeming

Vision and not reality.

Yet, when my eyes

Reach yours,

I know the secret:

You are trespassing

Into my sphere of time.

*

For long moments

All thought is suspended,

I am transfixed

By your gaze.

Longing fills me,

I desire it all

But you are only mine for

A mere macrocosm in time.

*

Time's vibration

Crescendos, then settles.

You know it, too:

Here, wrapped within

Our private cosmos

We love and

Know each other

To the depths of our being.

*

But of a sudden,

A flash of light,

The earth trembles.

You are gone and

My heart falters.

Like grains of sand

Through fingers,

Our time has vanished.

*

Whispers, echoes –

Nothing more –

Remain in the dawn.

The brief eclipse

Of love so divinely felt

Only moments ago

Disperses in the morning air.

You aren't even a memory.

*

Parallel universe and

Star crossed lovers?

Still, we don’t recall

Each other’s visage,

Cannot search high and low

Throughout the universes

To find our destination:

Obscure, unfathomable love.

*

Thus, a moment

Is suspended in time.

The rarest opportunity

Escapes swiftly

Like the morning dew.

We are none the wiser

Nor will we ever know

The treasure that was missed.

surreal poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.