Poets logo

Chalkboard Gag

Showing Love From the Comforts of our Couch

By Heather CumboPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Chalkboard Gag
Photo by Roman Mager on Unsplash

My husband is albino.

So, what does that mean?

It means that he can’t be in the sun

for long periods of time.

He has very blond hair

and crystal blue eyes.

Oh…speaking of eyes…

He can’t see.

Oh, he can see

but not very well.

It’s something special;

only albinos have it.

He does beautiful work

on model cars,

but he doesn’t drive.

At least, not often.

Wears special glasses

when he does.

I tried to get him to watch silent films.

I don’t mind

reading the cards.

But classic movies are my thing

so silent films mean nothing

to him

even when I show him I love him

by reading for him.

He loves The Simpsons, though.

He watches all the reruns.

One night, I realized

he can’t read the chalkboard gag.

So, I casually read,

“I will not draw naked ladies in class.”

My husband chuckled.

And I found it.

A little way

to give him love.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Heather Cumbo

I once tried to major in Theatre, but ended up going back to my first love, which is Creative Writing. I am a huge bookworm and film buff. I also like theatre (the costume department), classic rock and folk music, and trying new things.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Harvey Elwood2 years ago

    This was such a nice little slice of life moment captured. I love the simplicity and the emotions it evokes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.