Poets logo

Chains

Those Deepest of Wounds

By j.d. davisPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

DEAR PEOPLE TO WHOM I HOLD GRIEVANCES,

I have long been shackled

Shackled by the hate and pain and self-loathing

All of these things I blamed on you

.

You who looked down upon

Made me lesser than

Taught me that I sit low

I hope you always find the Sun on your face

The Wind always at your back

.

The girl who broke my heart

I see your joy on Facebook

I am certain you never think fleetingly of me

I am grateful for your happy life

.

Fair-weathered friends

You left me at my lowest

When I wanted to die

You were nowhere to be found

May you never know that loneliness

.

Church people filled with bromides

Your judgment

Your dismissal of me

Your PLATITUDES instead of LOVE

I pray God shows you the grace that you did not show me

.

Bullies

Each and everyone of you

Schoolyard, church pew, office

At HOME

Real bruises

Real shame

Punches with fists and words

Thank you for the hard lessons

I wish you no pain

.

You Trusted Thieves

More than money or things you stole

My soul crushed

My innocence lost

All devoured like a lion eating gazelle

Be blessed all your days

.

Long poisoned

Bleeding

Dragging chains

I know it was not you

IT WAS ME

.

Never seeing the road ahead

Always the thorns behind

.

Today I forgive you all

.

Today I forgive myself

.

Today I am FREE

Love, Jamie

listinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

j.d. davis

Seeker. Thinker. Melancholy. Conflicted believer. Evolving human. Bipolar being. And sometimes I use bad words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Wow! This felt like a long time coming. So glad you got it out in the open. Great read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.